Book Description

From Publishers Weekly At the start of British author Mackintosh?s accomplished debut, five-year-old Jacob Jordan lets go of his mother?s hand for an instant on a rainy evening in Bristol, England, and darts into the road, only to be struck and killed by a hit-and-run. The investigation lands on the desk of Det. Insp. Ray Stevens and his eager new detective constable, Kate Evans. Mackintosh alternates between the slow, but fruitless, police work and the movements of artist Jenna Gray, who?s haunted by Jacob?s death and relocates to an isolated Welsh village, where she keeps to herself, warming slightly to the local vet after finding an abandoned puppy, and even then keeping the details of her previous life a secret. Back in Bristol, Ray and Kate work the case to the ground, despite a lack of leads; predictable sparks fly, even though Ray is happily married with two children. Mackintosh easily shifts points of view and keeps readers on their toes, slowly upping the suspense, so that when she does reveal her twists they?mostly?work. (May)\n --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition. Read more Review ?Chilling, compelling and compassionate, I Let You Go is a finely-crafted novel with a killer twist.??Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train ? ?Astonishingly good.??Lee Child, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Make Me?The big plot twist in Clare Mackintosh?s first novel,?I Let You Go, is genuinely shocking. The jolts that follow, right up until the last page, are pretty good too...[a] cunning psychological thriller.??Marilyn Stasio,?The New York Times Book Review??An intense psychological thriller?[that] revels in surprises and twists?Outstanding.??The Associated Press ? ?On the level of the movie The Sixth Sense for its cleverness...This kind of sharp, cunning writing makes one eagerly look forward to Mackintosh?s next novel.??Shelf Awareness ? ?Jaw-dropping...The kind of book that sticks in the reader?s mind well after the final sentence.??Kirkus Reviews (starred review) ? ?A wonderfully layered thriller that skillfully builds from that one tragic event...A good match for fans of Sophie Hannah and Erin Kelly.??Library Journal (starred review) ? ?Mind-bending.??Booklist ? ?[An] accomplished debut...keeps readers on their toes.??Publishers Weekly?? Read more See all Editorial Reviews

Comments